Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division


view:  full / summary

The Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecture - William Dichtel

Posted on July 17, 2015 at 6:55 AM


The Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering is proud to announce that Dr. William Dichtel will be presenting the Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecture on Monday, August 17, 2015, 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. at the Boston ACS Meeting. His talk is entitled, “The Spectacular Properties of Porous Polymers,” and a brief summary of his lecture can be found at http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/meetings/fall-2015/program-overview/kavli-lecture-series.html



William Dichtel is an associate professor of chemistry and chemical biology at Cornell University. He received his BS In Chemistry from MIT and his PhD from UC-Berkeley under the mentorship of Jean M. J. Fréchet. Before moving to Cornell he was a postdoctoral researcher working jointly in the groups of Fraser Stoddart (then at UCLA) and Jim Heath (Caltech). Dichtel has made seminal contributions to the development of covalent organic frameworks (COFs) over the past decade. Covalent organic frameworks (COFs) are porous polymers with periodic bonding in two or three dimensions. They are unique materials because of their low density, permanent porosity, and the predictability of their monomers organization. Dichtel developed a simple and general method to grow COFs as thin films on conductive substrates by using single-layer graphene as a template. His group also reported the first redox-¬-active 2D polymer, which stores electrical charge rapidly and reversibly. These and related materials have also shown promise for catalysis, sensing, and water purification applications.


Distinguised Service Award Winner Announced

Posted on July 17, 2015 at 6:10 AM

Benny Freeman is named the 2015 PMSE Distinguished Service Awardee.

2015 Henkel Award for Graduate Research Winner

Posted on June 21, 2015 at 9:10 AM

Jessica Kramer is the winner of the 2015 Henkel Award for Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry. The award will be presented at a symposium in her honor at the ACS National Meeting in Boston August 16-20 in the Division of Polymer Chemistry. Dr. Kramer completed the Ph.D. in Chemistry in 2013 at UCLA with Prof. Tim Deming. In her Ph.D. research she prepared functional glycosylated polypeptides with controlled placement of sugar groups via living polymerization of highly pure glycosylated alpha-aminoacid-N-carboxyanhydride monomers. She is now a NIH and UC Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi at the University of California - Berkeley.

2015 Doolittle Award Winner

Posted on June 21, 2015 at 9:05 AM

Jillian Buriak (University of Alberta) was awarded the 2015 Doolittle Award for her paper “Challenges Facing Directed Assembly of Block Copolymers: Nanopatterning at the sub-10nm Scale.”

2015 Jornal of Polymer Science Award Winner Announced

Posted on June 21, 2015 at 8:50 AM

The editors of the Journal of Polymer Science and the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division of the ACS are delighted to announce that the JPS Innovation Award winner for 2015 is Rachel Segalman.

Call for Nominations: PMSE Garduate Student Research Award

Posted on June 12, 2015 at 6:05 AM

PMSE is pleased to announce a biannual award which provides $500.00 of to graduate student women or under-represented minority men (Black, Hispanic or Native American) to attend and present their research at the National ACS Meetings. 

Deadline for receipt of application materials is July 10, 2015 for the 2015 ACS Meeting in Boston. Please email the documents to the email address provided.

Find more information at the PMSE Graduate Student Research Award page.

ACS National Meeting, Spring 2015

Posted on May 14, 2015 at 9:05 PM

ACS Vision - Improving people's lives through the transforming power of chemistry

Credit: ACS

2nd International Conference on Bioinspired and Zwitterionic Materials

Posted on April 6, 2015 at 8:45 PM

Understanding the sophisticated functionalities offered by objects and processes found in nature will guide the design of materials with desirable properties to meet challenging applications. Zwitterionic materials, inspired by cell membranes and proteins, are excellent examples of bioinspired materials and have emerged as a new class of biocompatible materials. ICBZM 2015 aims to capture the excitement of this emerging field.


Find out more at http://icbzm2015.com/

2016 Cooperative Research Nominations

Posted on March 30, 2015 at 12:40 AM

Nominations are invited for the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering’s Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering Sponsored by the Eastman Kodak Company. The Division believes that this award is unique, relevant and timely to today’s research environment. It is given to recognize and encourage sustained cooperative research between industrial and academic or industrial and national laboratory scientists. The cooperative research must be of significant importance to polymer science and technology.

Nominations for the 2016 award will be accepted until August 15, 2015.

PMSE Poster Award Winners

Posted on March 25, 2015 at 5:50 PM

Four posters were honored as PMSE Poster Award winners on Tuesday during the PMSE Poster Session at the Colorado Convention Center.  Congratulations to all awards winners and finalists. 

Interfacial profile control in cross-linkable block copolymers for improved pattern transfer
Garrett Chado, Chunlin He, Mark Stoykovich
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Colorado at Boulder

pH-responsive polymeric microspheres for micronutrients fortification of salt
Xian Xu, Yingying Zeng, Evan Rosenberg, Robert Langer, Ana Jaklenec
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

4D printing for spatially and temporally dynamic bioscaffolds
Joselle McCracken, Ralph Nuzzo
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Design, surface modification, and evaluation of cell-growth directive properties of 3D hydrogel scaffolds
Adina Badea, Joselle McCracken, Ralph Nuzzo
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Please come see the posters at the POLY/PMSE award ceremony tonight if you would like to see the posters again or missed them on Tuesday.



Become part of the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineerin today!

Membership forms are available in PDF or Word formats with instructions inside on completing your membership.

PMSE Preprints

For access to and questions abour PMSE Preprints, please visit the PMSE Preprints Homepage.

ACS Webinars

ACS webinars -- a free webinar series with subject experts and global thought leaders in chemical sciences, management, and business on relevant professional issues.

PMSE on Twitter

Send to a friend

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events