Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry

Call for Nominations: 2017 Henkel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry

The award consists of a $2,000 prize, a plaque, and travel expenses to the Fall National Meeting of the ACS for the presentation.

Thesis Advisors are urged to nominate their students for this Award!

Under the auspices of The Polymer Education Committee (POLYED) of the ACS divisions of Polymer Chemistry and of Polymeric Materials Science & Engineering, the award recognizes a graduate student or recent graduate who has completed an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in research accepted by a U.S. or Canadian university during the three-year period prior to Jan. 1 of the award year.

Nominees will be judged on the basis of their contribution to the thesis research, the quality and level of innovation demonstrated, and the impact of the research on the science of synthetic polymers or biopolymers. The research advisor will also be recognized in publications about the award and during the award presentation.

Nominations must be made by the thesis supervisor or by others familiar with the nominee's work. The nominating document must include the nominee's biography, a synopsis of the work, and a letter of recommendation from the thesis advisor. Relevant publications based on the thesis work may be submitted. Supporting documents and testimonials may also be included.

Send a PDF file of the nomination by Jan. 31 of the award year to:

Questions can be addressed to: Dr. Mary Ann Meador, NASA Glenn Research Center


Thanks for Unilever (1991-2003), National Starch (2006 - 2008), and AzkoNobel (2008-2013) for their past award support. 

2017 Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry

The winner of the 2017 Henkel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry is John W. Colson. He earned the Ph.D. in 2015 at Cornell University with Prof. William Dichtel for preparation of two-dimensional covalent organic framework polymers interfaced with single layer graphene and application of the polymers with graphene sheets as materials for optoelectronic devices. After postdoctoral research at the University of Chicago with Profs. Matthew Tirrell and Paul Nealey, Dr. Colson now works at ClostraBio, Inc., Chicago, IL.

Given annually, the Henkel Award recognizes the author of the best Ph.D. thesis in polymer chemistry during the three years preceding the date of the award. The 2017 award will be presented at a symposium in honor of Dr. Colson at the American Chemical Society National Meeting in Washington D.C. August 20-24 in the Division of Polymer Chemistry. The award is sponsored by the Henkel Corporation and the ACS Divisions of Polymer Chemistry and Polymer Science: Materials and Engineering and is administered by PolyEd, the polymer education committee.

Past Recipients

Christopher Gorman
Advised by: Robert Grubbs, California Institute of Technology

Richard Register
Advised by:  Stuart Cooper, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Christopher N. Bowman
Advised by: Nicholas Peppas, Purdue University

Timothy J. Deming
Advised by:  Bruce Novak, University of California, Berkeley

Rangaramanujam M. Kannan
Advised by: Julia Kornfield, California Institute of Technology

Kristi S. Anseth
Advised by:  Christopher Bowman, University of Colorado at Boulder

D.-Y. Kim
Advised by: Sukant K. Tripathy, University of Massachusetts Lowell

James J. Watkins
Advised by:  Thomas J. McCarthy, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Scott G. Gaynor
Advised by: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University

X. Linda Chen
Advised by:  Samson A. Jenekhe, University of Rochester

Shu Yang
Advised by: Christopher K. Ober, Cornell University

Kristi Kiick
Advised by:  David Tirrell, California Institute of Technology

Christopher Bielawski
Advised by: Robert Grubbs, California Institute of Technology

Jiaxing Huang
Advised by:  Richard Kaner, UCLA

Jason Rolland
Advised by: Joseph DiSimone, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Nikolay Tsarevsky
Advised by:  Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University

Christopher Bettinger
Advised by: Robert Langer, MIT

Haifeng Gao
Advised by:  Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University

Rong Tong
Advised by: Jianjun Cheng, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Garret Miyake
Advised by:  Eugene Chen, Colorado State University

Hua Lu
Advised by: Jianjun Cheng, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Felix Kim
Advised by: Samson Jenekhe, University of Washington

Jessica Kramer
Advised by: Tim Deming, University of California, Los Angeles

Maxwell Robb
Advised by: Craig Hawker, University of California, Santa Barbara 


Become part of the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineerin today!

Membership forms are available in PDF or Word formats with instructions inside on completing your membership.

ACS Webinars

ACS webinars -- a free webinar series with subject experts and global thought leaders in chemical sciences, management, and business on relevant professional issues.

PMSE on Twitter

Send to a friend

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events