Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2004 PMSE Fellows


The American Chemical Society Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) has just completed its process to select a new class of Fellows for 2004, and the following people have been chosen:

Nikos Hadjichristidis Bill MacKnight Don Schulz

They will be inducted as the fifth class of PMSE Fellows during the Awards Lunch at the Anaheim ACS Meeting on Monday, March 29th, 2004. PMSE is pleased to welcome this distinguished group of polymer scientists and engineers to the ranks of fellows.

Three new PMSE Fellows were inducted during the PMSE Awards Lunch at the Anaheim ACS Meeting on Monday, March 29, 2004. They are shown below at the luncheon:

2004 PMSE Fellows
New PMSE Fellows inducted in Anaheim. From left: Nikos Hadjichrisitidis, William MacKnight, and Donald Schulz.

Here is a short description of each of them.



Prof. Nikos Hadjichristidis
Dr. Hadjichristidis

Prof. Nikos Hadjichristidis obtained his B. Sc. degree from the University of Athens, Greece, in 1966, his Ph. D. at the University of Liège, Belgium in 1971, and his D. Sc. from the University of Athens in 1978. He conducted postdoctoral research at the University of Liège with Professor V. Desreux (1971-1972) and at the National Research Council of Canada with Dr. J. Roovers (1972-1973). Prof. Hadjichristidis has been part of the Chemistry Department of the University of Athens since 1973, becoming Full Professor in 1988 and serving as Director of the Industrial Chemistry Laboratory since 1994, and department chairman (1991-1995 and since 1999). He has also been a visiting scientist at the University of Liège, the NRC of Canada, and the University of Akron. He has been a visiting professor at ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Co, NJ since 1984. Prof. Hadjichristidis has served as President of the European Polymer Federation (1995-1996), Member of the National Advisory Research Council (since 1994), President of the State Highest Chemical Board (since 1995), and Director of the Institute of ''Organic and Pharmaceutical Chemistry'' of the National Hellenic Research Foundation (2000-2001). He has received the Academy of Athens Award for Chemistry (1989), the Empirikion Award for Sciences (1994), the Greek Chemists Association Award (2000) and the ACS PMSE A. K. Doolittle Award (2003). He has published more than 250 refereed papers and he is the co-author of a book on ''Block Copolymers''.



Prof. William J. MacKnight
Dr. MacKnight

Professor William J. MacKnight received his bachelor's degree in Chemistry (with Distinction) from the University of Rochester, and his master's in Chemistry and Ph. D. in Physical Chemistry from Princeton. He was a Research Associate at Princeton with A. V. Tobolsky (1964-5). Professor MacKnight has been at the University of Massachusetts since 1965, serving as the Head of the Polymer Science and Engineering Department for 16 years, holding the rank of Distinguished University Professor since 1996, and Wilmer D. Barrett Distinguished Professor since 1998. Professor MacKnight has served on many committees, review and editorial boards, and has received a number of international and national awards. These include the High Polymer Physics Prize (co-recipient) of the American Physical Society (1984), American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Chemistry (1997), Distinguished Service Award in Advancement of Polymer Science administered by The Society of Polymer Science, Japan (1998), and the Herman F. Mark Award administered by the Division of Polymer Chemistry of the American Chemical Society (2002). In 1998 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the AAAS. He has authored or co-authored over 300 publications, 7 patents, and co-authored 2 books.




Dr. Donald N. Schulz
Dr. Schulz

Dr. Donald N. Schulz is currently Senior Scientific Advisor at the Corporate Strategic Research Laboratories of ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Co. in Clinton, NJ. At Exxon he has held a variety of research and research management positions. He was the Section Head or Program Leader over 4 commercializations. Prior to joining Exxon, Don was a Group Leader at the Central Research Laboratories of the Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Massachusetts in 1971 and was the CUMIRP Lecturer there in 1991. His research interests include polymer synthesis/modification, catalysis, functional polymers, and structure-property relationships. He is the coeditor of 5 books, author or co-author of over 90 publications, and inventor or co-inventor of over 55 issued U. S. Patents. He has served on the Editorial Boards of Rubber Reviews (Chairman), Rubber Chemistry and Technology, PMSE Preprints (Editor), Heteroatom Chemistry, and Isotopics (Editor). In addition he has chaired two Gordon Research Conferences ("Ion-Containing Polymers" and "Elastomers, Networks and Gels"), as well as a number of symposia at ACS National meetings. Dr. Schulz is also a Past Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Program Chair of the PMSE Division of the ACS and Past Secretary General of ACS Macromolecular Secretariat.