Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2007 PMSE Fellows



The American Chemical Society Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) has just completed its process to select a new class of Fellows for 2007, and the following people have been chosen:

James Crivello Mohamed El-Aasser James Stoffer Wen-Li Wu

They will be inducted as the eighth class of PMSE Fellows during the PMSE/POLY Awards Reception at the Chicago ACS National Meeting on Monday, March 26, 2007. PMSE is pleased to welcome this distinguished group of polymer scientists and engineers to the ranks of fellows.



Prof. James Crivello
Dr. Crivello

PROF. JAMES CRIVELLO received his B.S. in chemistry from Aquinas College in Grand Rapids, Michigan in 1962 and his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Notre Dame in 1966. He joined the General Electric Corporate Research and Development Center in 1966 and was for several years a research project manger. His fields of activity include: organic nitrations, oxidations, and arylations, polyimides, silicones, and new photo- and thermal initiators for cationic and free radical polymerizations. In 1980, he was elected a Coolidge Fellow by the staff at GE Corporate Research and Development and spent the 1986-87 year as a visiting scientist at the University of Mainz with Prof. Helmut Ringsdorf in the Federal Republic of Germany. He joined the faculty at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1988 as professor and currently he directs a number of graduate students and postdoctoral associates in various aspects of research in the synthesis of polymers and copolymers by cationic, free radical and transition metal catalysis.




Prof. Mohamed El-Aasser

PROF. MOHAMED EL-AASSER is the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs of Lehigh University. Dr. El-Aasser received his undergraduate and Master's degree at the University of Alexandria, Egypt and his Ph.D. at McGill University, Montreal, Canada. Over the past 30 years at Lehigh University, Dr. El-Aasser has served in a variety of leadership and administrative positions while heading a major academic research effort that produced 343 technical articles, 9 patents and the editing of 5 books based on symposia meetings.. He has been the major professor and advisor for 63 Ph.D. and 53 M.S. graduate students. He is internationally known for his research in polymer colloids and emulsion polymerization processes. His principal research interests are associated with kinetics and mechanisms of hetero-polymerization processes which includes modeling and control, the thermodynamic and kinetic phenomena involved in developing morphological features in latex systems, and the colloidal and surface interactions in latexes and their film formation. He and his research group in the Emulsion Polymers Institute pioneered the field of miniemulsions.

Over the past 30 years, Dr. El-Aasser has been the principal and co-principal investigator on many research grants and contracts with funding from NASA, NSF, DOE and numerous industrial companies. He is the Director of the Emulsion Polymers Institute, which interacts with industry via a successful liaison program with 25 industrial member companies from the U.S., Europe, Japan, and Korea. He is the founder of the NSF/IUCRC Polymer Interfaces Center at Lehigh and acted as its first director for 5 years. He has also organized and chaired several meetings and symposia, most notably the Gordon Research Conference on Polymer Colloids, and the NATO Advanced Research Workshop on "Future Directions in Polymer Colloids".



Dr. James O. Stoffer

Dr. JAMES O. STOFFER is the Curators' Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at the University of Missouri-Rolla (UMR). He received his B.S. from Mount Union College, his Ph.D., from Purdue University and did Postdoctoral studies at Cornell University. Dr. Stoffer's research activities are centered in the area of Polymers and Coatings Science. For over forty years, he has taught Organic Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry at UMR where has had the privilege of graduating some 28 PhD students and 25 MS students. For many years, he has taught in UMR's paint short course program and the ACS Coatings short course. He has authored some of the earliest papers on microemulsion polymerization, ultrasonically initiated free radical catalyzed polymerizations and microwave initiated polymerizations. With fellow co-workers, he has prepared the first transparent composites for use as aircraft windows. Recently, working with fellow co-workers, they have developed rare earth materials as replacements for highly toxic chromium as the corrosion inhibitor for aluminum. Chromium VI is toxic and must be removed from the work place and in/on products of commerce. UMR's non-chrome coatings do pass of these Mil specs@ requirements for the Air Force. This will have a major impact on the aircraft industry since the Federal Government spends over two billion dollars each year just painting and repainting aircraft, mostly related to corrosion protection. Deft, Inc. of Irvine, CA has licensed the Rare Earth Primer technology from UMR and has obtained qualification as a primer to meet military specifications. The Air Force is using the Deft 02-GN-084 on all F-15's. Full QPL listing is done and it is approved for the new joint strike force aircraft. Dr. Stoffer has been active in the St. Louis Federation of Societies for Coatings Technology (FSCT). He has also been on the FSCT education Committee. He was on the executive Committee of PMSE for several years. He has received five outstanding teacher awards and two faculty excellence awards at UMR.




Dr. Wen-li Wu
Dr. Wu

DR. WEN-LI WU is a NIST Fellow and the Senior Scientist in the Polymers Division of NIST in Gaithersburg, MD. He earned a B.S. (Mechanical Engineering) in 1967 at the National Taiwan University and a Ph.D. in 1972 at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After working for Monsanto for six years he joined NIST in 1979. His research interests include the applications of x-ray and neutron scattering/reflectivity to probe polymer interfaces and thin films. He has over one hundred ninety publications on topics including scattering theory, molecular network structure, wear behavior of dental composites, molecular dynamics in confined geometry and electronic application of polymers. He was awarded the U.S. Department of Commerce Gold Medal in 1992, Samuel Wesley Stratton Award in 1997 and William P. Slichter Award in 2001. He became a fellow of the American Physics Society in 1992.