Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2009 PMSE Fellows



The American Chemical Society Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) has just completed its process to select a new class of Fellows for 2009, and the following people have been chosen:

Craig Hawker Alex K-Y. Jen Lon J. Mathias Christopher K. Ober Garth Wilkes

They will be inducted as the ninth class of PMSE Fellows at the Salt Lake ACS Meeting during the PMSE Awards Luncheon on Monday, March 23, 2009. PMSE is pleased to welcome this distinguished group of polymer scientists and engineers to the ranks of fellows.



Prof. Craig J. Hawker
Dr. Hawker

Professor Craig J. Hawker is currently Director of the Materials Research Laboratory and a Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Materials at the University of California, Santa Barbara. From 1993-2004 he was a Research Staff Member and an investigator in the NSF Center for Polymer Interfaces and Macromolecular Assemblies at the IBM Almaden Research Center. He received a B.Sc. (Hons) degree and University Medal in Chemistry from the University of Queensland in 1984 and a Ph.D. in bioorganic chemistry from the University of Cambridge in 1988 under the supervision of Prof. Sir Alan Battersby. Jumping into the world of polymer chemistry, he undertook a post-doctoral fellowship with Prof. Jean Fréchet at Cornell University from 1988 to 1990 and then returned to the University of Queensland as a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow from 1991 to 1993. He has been honored by numerous awards including the 2005 ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science from the American Chemical Society, the 2005 Dutch Polymer Award, the 2007 Hermann Mark Scholar Award and the 2008 DSM Performance Materials Award. In addition to a variety of named lectureships, Dr. Hawker is Editor of the Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer Chemistry and an Adjunct Professor of Chemistry at the University of Queensland. His research has focused on the interface between organic and polymer chemistry with emphasis on the design, synthesis, and application of well-defined macromolecular structures in biotechnology, microelectronics and surface science.




Prof. Alex Jen
Dr. Jen

Professor Alex Jen has made pioneering contributions in the fields of molecular engineering of polymer photonics and electronics. He is currently the Boeing-Johnson Chair Professor and Department Chair of the Materials Science & Engineering, University of Washington. He has co-authored more than 400 papers and holds 50 patents and invention disclosures. He was selected as a Fellow by the American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2005, the International Society of Optical Engineering (SPIE) in 2006, and by the Optical Society America (OSA) in 2007.




Prof. Lon J. Mathias
Dr. Mathias

Professor Lon J. Mathias has been teaching and doing research in polymer science for over 30 years. He received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees from the University of Michigan in 1976 and 1974, respectively. He obtained his B.S. degree from the University of Iowa in 1971. He has developed new courses in polymer science and related areas that are taught on-campus at undergraduate and graduate levels and off-campus as short-courses. He has published over 300 papers, received over 20 patents and advised dozens of MS and PhD students toward successful careers. Education activities also include multimedia material (see the website at www.pslc.ws) and books aimed at all levels. Workshops for K-12 teachers and college faculty are offered annually along with a summer program for undergraduates and teachers and an annual conference for undergraduate researchers to present and interact (www.pslc.ws/inspire). Research areas range from traditional polymer synthesis and characterization to biomaterials and bio-based monomers and polymers (www.pslc.ws/mathias). He was director of the NSF-funded interdisciplinary graduate IGERT program providing students with education and training at the entrepreneurial interface between polymers and medicine (www.pslc.ws/igert).




Prof. Christopher K. Ober
Dr. OberR

Professor Christopher K. Ober earned his B.Sc. from the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada, in 1978 and both his M.S. (polymer science and engineering, 1980) and Ph.D. (polymer science and engineering, 1982) from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. After working at the Xerox Research Centre of Canada, Ober joined the Cornell faculty in 1986; he became associate professor in 1992 and a professor in 1998. He served as director of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering from 2000 to 2003 and as associate dean for research and graduate studies in the College of Engineering since 2007. In 2009, he will serve as interim Dean of Engineering at Cornell. Ober's research focuses on polymers, lithographic materials for microelectronics and biotechnology, and new environmentally and biologically friendly materials. His professional honors include the 2006 American Chemical Society Award in Applied Polymer Science, a 2007 Humboldt Research Prize and a National Science Foundation Creativity Award this year. He is currently president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry's Polymer Division.



Prof. Garth Wilkes
Dr. Wilkes

Professor Garth Wilkes is presently a University Distinguished Emeritus Professor of Chemical Engineering at Virginia Tech. He obtained his Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry in 1969 from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He also obtained an M.S. degree in Polymer Science and Engineering from the same institution in 1967. Professor Wilkes holds B.S. and M.S. degrees (1964 & 1966) in Forestry from the New York State College of Forestry at Syracuse. He became an Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at Princeton University in 1969 and a tenured Associate Professor in 1976. In 1978 he joined Virginia Tech as a Full Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering. Later he was promoted to a named chair professor and then to the title of University Distinguished Professor in 1999. He transferred to Emeritus status in 2003. During his career at Virginia Tech, he served as the co-director of the Polymer Materials & Interfaces Laboratory for over 25 years. He also was the director for six years of the interdisciplinary Ph.D. program on Materials Science and Engineering. His research is focused on the theme of the Structure-Property Behavior of Polymeric Materials. He has mentored over 60 Ph.D. candidates and several M.S. candidates as well. His list of publications numbers over 400 papers including book chapters and journal papers. He has received many educational and research awards in his field including the American Chemical Society Rubber Division Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers (TPE) Award, the Flory Award in Polymer Education, and the Creative Polymer Chemistry Award provided by the Polymer Division of the American Chemical Society. He is also very active as a consultant to the polymer industry and he also taught over 200 polymer "short courses" to industrial polymer scientists and engineers.



PMSE is pleased to welcome Craig J. Hawker, Alex Jen, Lon J. Mathias, Christopher K. Ober, and Garth Wilkes to the ranks of fellows. The Division thanks everyone who has helped in this process by submitting nominations or participating in the selection.