Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

San Francisco ACS Meeting

All primary PMSE-sponsored symposia are held at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel.  Cosponsored meetings may be held in different locations, please check the meeting website for complete details.

PMSE has organized ten general symposia, five award symposia, and two student award symposia at the Fall Meeting.  Three additional symposia are co-sponsored, with CHED, CMA, and POLY as the primary sponsors.

PMSE General Symposia

Advanced Materials Synthesis and Assembly Toward Technology Challenges Organizers: Shu Wang, Xiong Gong

Advances in Polymer Science and Engineering: The 4th Joint Symposium Between ACS-PMSE and the Chinese Chemical Society (CCS)-Polymer Division (PD)
Organizers: Dujin Wang, Qinghuang Lin, Zi-Chen Li

Conjugated Polyelectroloytes for Optoelectronics and Electronics and Biosensors
Organizers: Shu Wang, Xiong Gong

Frontiers in Computational Methods for Polymeric Materials
Organizers: David Simmons, August Bosse 

Functional Fluids: Synthesis, Structure and Properties
Organizers: Abhimanyu Patil, Shuji Luo

Functional Supramolecular Polymers
: Honggang Cui, Stuart Rowan

General Papers/New Concepts in Polymeric Materials
Organizer: Qinghuang Lin 

Joint PMSE/POLY Poster Session
Organizer: Qinghuang Lin

Porous Polymers
: David Schiraldi, Marc Hillmyer, Michael Silverstein, Neil McKeown 

Self-Healing and Shape Memory Materials
Organizers: Robert Weiss, Kevin Cavicchi

Stimuli-Responsive Supramolecular, Macromolecular and Nanostructured Systems and Biopolymer-Driven Organization of Nanostructures
Organizers: Adam Braunschweig, Janarthanan Jayawickramarajah, Nathan Gianneschi

Cosponsored Sessions
- Undergraduate Research Posters
- Metal-Containing and Metallo-Supramolecular Polymers and Materials

Support for these smymposia was provided by various organizations. PMSE thanks them for their contributions to this ACS National Meeting.

  • 1-Material Inc.
  • ACS Macro Letters
  • Aldrich Materials Science
  • Army Research Office
  • Biomacromolecules
  • ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company
  • IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  • IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Macromolecules
  • The Royal Society of Chemistry/Chemical Communications (ChemComm)
  • Tulane University
  • University of Miami

Award Symposia

Journal of Polymer Science Award: Symposium in Honor of Brent Sumerlin
Craig Hawker, Victoria Cleave 

National Fresenius Award: Symposium in Honor of William R. Dichtel
Organizer: Stuart Rowan

Polymer Hybrids and Alloys for Coatings and Films
Organizers: Kurt Wood, Gary Larson

Held in honor for the ACS Award for Team Innovation Symposium in Honor of Ramin Amin-Sanayei, Kevin Hanrahan, John Stuligross, Roice Willie and Kurt Wood.

Roy W. Tess Award: Symposium in Honor of James V. Crivello
Organizers: Christopher Bowman, Allan Guymon

Kathryn C. Hach Award of Entrepreneurial Success: Symposium in Honor of Joseph M. DeSimone, Benjamin W. Maynor and Jason P. Rolland
Organizers: Chad Mirkin, Timothy Merkel, Zhibin Guan
Thanks to Kathryn C. Hach Award Endowment for their generous support

Ben W. Maynor, Joseph M. DeSimone, and Jason P. Rolland will be honored for their work in commercializing PRINT nanoparticle technology by founding and developing Liquidia technologies. Liquidia uses PRINT nanotechnology to specifically tailor nanoparticles to address several different areas in medicine including vaccines and inhaled drugs.

Cosponsored Sessions
PMSE is also honored to support the symposium for the ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences: Symposium in Honor of Rigoberto Hernandez

Student Award Symposia

Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science
Organizer: John Gilmer
Thanks to Eastman Chemical Company for their financial support

Session Speakers Underlined

Michael B Larsen, Andrew J Boydston
Successive mechanochemical activation and small molecule release in an elastomeric material

Mingjiang Zhong, Eun Kyung Kim, Hunaid Nulwala, Alexander Star, Tomasz Kowalewski, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski
Block copolymers for rational design of nitrogen-enriched nanocarbons suitable for sustainable energy applications

Brian T. McVerry, Mavis C. Y. Wong, Catalina Marambio-Jones, Kristofer L. Marsh, Eric M. V. Hoek, Richard B. Kaner
Scalable anti-fouling reverse osmosis membranes

Xianwen Mao, Gregory C Rutledge, T. Alan Hatton
Polymer-derived electrospun turbostratic carbon nanofibers with controlled electrochemical activities for sensing and energy applications

Jung Ki Hong, Maren Roman
Cellulose nanocrystal reinforced bioactive poly(e-caprolactone) nanocomposite for bone tissue engineering

Chainika Jangu, Jing-Han Helen Wang, Dong Wang, James R. Heflin, Ralph H. Colby, Timothy E. Long
Imidazole-containing ABA triblock copolymers containing a synergy of ether and imidazolium sites

Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry Symposium
Organizer: Warren Ford

Session Speakers

Award Winner
Felix Sunjoo Kim, Samson A Jenekhe
Structure-property relationship of electron-transporting polymer semiconductors for organic electronics

Mario Leclerc
New polymerization methods for plastic electronics

Soo Young Park
Supramolecular optoelectronics: Self-assembling π-conjugated floppy molecules

Tobin J Marks
New materials strategies for designing hybrid electronic circuitry

Kookheon Char, Moon Sung Kang
Colloidal tetrapod semiconductor nanocrystals for electronic/optoelectronic applications

Benjamin J. Schwartz
Avoiding kinetic control over the nm-scale morphology of conjugated polymer-based bulk heterojunction solar cells

Zhenan Bao
Organic semiconductor design and solution processing

Samson A Jenekhe, Taeshik Earmme, Ye-Jin Hwang
Highly efficient all-polymer photovoltaic devices