Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2011 ACS PMSE Distinguished Service Award


 Dr. Elsa Reichmanis

The recipient of the 2011 Distinguished Service Award, given by the ACS Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) is Dr. Elsa Reichmanis. Elsa recently joined the faculty of the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering of the Georgia Institute of Technology.  Prior to joining Georgia Tech she was Bell Labs Fellow and Director of the Materials Research Department at Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent.  She received her Ph. D. and BS degrees in chemistry from Syracuse University.  In 1984, she was promoted to Supervisor of the Radiation Sensitive Materials and Application Group, followed by promotion to Head of the Polymer and Organic Materials Research Department in 1994. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has received several awards for her work.  She has been active in professional societies, particularly the American Chemical Society.  After joining the ACS Polymer Materials Science and Engineering Division, she served as a Member-at-Large for several years, followed by election to Secretary in 1991.  In 1993, she became Vice-Chair of the Division, followed by Chair-Elect in 1994 and Chair the following year.  She continued her service activities in a number of capacities both for the Division and ACS.  In 2003 she served as President of the ACS.  Elsa Reichmanis is also active in a number of other capacities, notably her National Research Council activities.   Her research interests include the chemistry, properties and application of materials technologies for photonic and electronic applications, with particular focus on polymeric and nanostructured materials for advanced technologies.



Past Distinguished Service Award Winners:

Roy W. Tess(1993)
Ray Dickie(2004)
E. E. McSweeney(1994)
Larry F. Thompson(2005)
Louis J. Nowacki(1995)
S. Richard Turner(2006)
Kenneth N. Edwards(1996)
George R. Pilcher(2007)
Clara D. Craver(1999)
David J. Lohse(2008)
Sandy Labana(2000)
Murrae J. Bowden
John Lupinski(2001)
Michael Jaffe(2010)
Charles E. Carraher(2002)
Elsa Reichmanis(2011)
Theodore Provder(2003)
 Leslie H. Sperling(2012)