Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2013 AzkoNobel Student Award in Applied Polymer Science

The PMSE Division is pleased to announce that Mark W. Tibbitt is the winner of the 2013 AkzoNobel Student Award in Applied Polymer Science.  This Award, which is sponsored by AkzoNobeI and administered by the PMSE Division  is given for the best paper presented at the AkzoNobel Award Symposium as part of the PMSE program at the 2013 Fall ACS Meeting.

Mark Tibbitt completed his doctorate in Chemical and Biological Engineering as a graduate student at University of Colorado Boulder where his Ph.D. thesis advisor was Prof. Kristi S. Anseth and is currently a postdoctoral fellow in the Langer group at MIT.  The title of his paper, which was presented at the recent Fall ACS Meeting in Indianapolis, IN was “Photoresponsive Hydrogels with Tunable Mechanical Properties for Selective Cell Capture and Release”.  The other finalists who presented papers at the Award Symposium were: Joshua M. Fishman (University of Wisconsin – Madison), Gibum Kwon (University of Michigan-Ann Arbor), Gurpreet Singh (The University of Akron),  Weinan Xu (Georgia Institute of Technology),and Shiyi Zhang (Texas A&M University).

The Award, consisting of $1600 and a plaque, will be presented to Dr. Tibbitt at the Joint PMSE/POLY Awards Reception at the Spring 2014 ACS Meeting in Dallas, TX.