Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2016 Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science

The PMSE Division is pleased to announce that Dr. Kenneth Mineart is the winner of the 2016 Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science.  This Award, sponsored by Eastman Chemical Company and administered by the PMSE Division, is given for the best paper presented at the Eastman Chemical Award Symposium as part of the PMSE program at the Fall 2016 National ACS Meeting in Philadelphia.

Dr. Mineart completed his doctorate in Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University where his Ph.D. advisor was Professor Richard J. Spontak.  Dr. Mineart is currently employed at the National Institute for Standards and Technology.  The title of his paper, presented at the recent Fall ACS Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, was “Extending the Versatility of Thermoplastic Elastomers: From Physical Blending to Chemical Functionalization.” The other finalists who presented at the Award Symposium were Jongbok Lee (Texas A&M University), Chi Kin Lo (Georgia Institute of Technology), Kai Ma (Cornell University), Laura Murphy Pascual (University of Washington), and Bailey Risteen (Georgia Institute of Technology).

The plaque as the winner of the 2016 Eastman Chemical Student Award will be presented to Dr. Mineart at the Joint PMSE/POLY Awards Reception at the Spring 2017 ACS Meeting in San Francisco, CA.  As Dr. Mineart, due to his employment at NIST, is not allowed to receive any cash payment, a donation of $1600 to an appropriate cause in Dr. Mineart’s honor is currently being considered by the Executive Committee of the PMSE Division.