Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division: Archival Website (through 2017)

2011 ACS PMSE Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings



Dr. Dean C. Webster

Dr. Dean C. Webster of North Dakota State University, Department of Coatings and Polymeric Materials will receive the Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings for 2011.  The announcement was made by the Officers and the Award Committee of the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) of the American Chemical Society.

Dr. Webster began his career in the coatings industry in 1984 working initially in corporate R&D and later for the Consumer Division of Sherwin-Williams in Chicago, IL, where he was involved in resin development for industrial coatings as well as long-range research in new resins and crosslinking chemistry. In 1993 he moved to Eastman Chemical Company where he led project teams in the areas of application development for new monomers, new chemistry for coatings systems, and polymer development for coatings. In 2001 he joined the Coatings and Polymeric Materials Department of North Dakota State University as Professor.

Dr. Webster received his Ph.D. in Materials Engineering Science at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1984. Prior to that he received his B.S. degree in Chemistry at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

At North Dakota State University Dr. Webster carries out research in the synthesis and characterization of novel polymers. Specific areas of focus are:

  • Synthesis of new high performance polymers and thermosets. In particular glycidyl carbamate crosslinking is being investigated to prepare a variety of thermoset coatings and to study the structure-property relationships of the resulting coatings.

  • Synthesis of novel polymer structures using methods such as ATRP, RAFT, and click chenistry.

  • Use of biobased raw materials in high performance coatings systems.

  • The use of combinatorial and high throughput methods applied to materials science to explore and screen a wide variety of polymer and coating compositions in a short period of time.

  • Non-toxic fouling release coatings for naval vessels by synthesizing crosslinked siloxane-polyurethane coatings that will self-stratify into a soft and low surface energy siloxane outerlayer with a tough durable polyurethane sublayer utilizing combinatorial and high throughput methods.
  • Radiation curable polymers for printable conductors for flexible microelectronics.
  • Incorporation of nanoparticles into polymers.

Dr. Webster has authored over 75 peer-reviewed papers and publications and is credited with  11 patents (an additional 18 pending) on coatings related topics as well as having numerous presentations on coatings related topics. He is a past chair of the polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering Division of the American Chemical Society is on the Professional development Committee of the American Coatings Association (ACA), was recently named an Editor for the journal Progress in Organic Coatings.

Dr. Webster has won the first place Roon Foundation Award for the best paper in the 2003, 2004 and 2006 International Coatings Exposition (ICE) of American Coatings Association. He was the invited keynote Technical Focus Speaker at the 2004 ICE

Dr. Webster will receive the Tess Award from Dr Todd Emrick, Chair of the PMSE Division, on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 during the 242nd National Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Denver, CO.  Dr. Webster will present an Award Address at that time. An evening reception in honor of the recipient  and other award winners will be held during the ACS meeting.


The Tess Award is presented annually by the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering in recognition of outstanding contributions to coatings science and technology. It is funded by a grant to the Division from Dr. and Mrs. Roy W. Tess. The purpose of the award is to encourage interest and progress in coatings science technology and engineering and to recognize significant contributions to the field. The Award consists of a plaque and a $3000 cash prize.

The distinguished past recipients of the Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings are: 
Williams D. Emmons (1986)
Mitchell A. Winnik (1999)
Marco Wismer (1987)
David R. Bauer (2000)
Zeno W. Wicks, Jr. (1988)
Frank N. Jones (2001)
Theodore Provder (1989)
Mohamed El-Aasser (2002)
Walter K. Asbeck (1990)
Rose Ryntz
Kenneth L. Hoy (1991)
Omkaram Nalamasu
Ray A. Dickie (1992)
J. Edward Glass
Larry F. Thompson (1993)
Jonathan W. Martin
Werner Funke(1994)
 L. E. (Skip) Scriven
John L. Gardon(1995)
 Clifford K. Schoff (2008)
John K. Gillham(1996)
 Christian Decker(2009)
Werner J. Blank(1997) Charles R. Hegedus (2010)
Loren W. Hill(1998)
 Dean C. Webster